Partenariat avec Cargill et A&W Canada pour l’action climatique

Cargill, A&W Canada et Projet New Acre soutiennent le pâturage régénératif, une solution naturelle aux défis écologiques.

“En tant qu’agriculteur participant au programme ALUS depuis 16 ans, je peux témoigner de la fierté que l’on ressent lorsque l’on dédie sa créativité, sa passion et ses compétences à relever les importants défis auxquels notre société est confrontée aujourd’hui, grâce à l’expérience acquise au fil de générations dévouées au travail de la terre.”

Nourrir la population tout en luttant contre les changements climatiques et la perte de biodiversité est le défi majeur de notre époque. Pour réussir, il faudra la participation des agriculteurs et des grands éleveurs du monde entier et le soutien d’entreprises tournées vers l’avenir qui s’engagent à agir en faveur du climat.

Pour relever ce défi, nous sommes heureux qu’A&W Canada et Cargill fassent preuve d’un leadership audacieux en créant Grazing Forward, une initiative du Projet New Acre. Celle-ci permettra de développer des pratiques régénératrices pour lutter contre les changements climatiques dans la chaîne d’approvisionnement du bœuf, et ce, dans 20 communautés de l’Alberta, de la Saskatchewan et du Manitoba au cours des trois prochaines années.

 

Bryan Gilvesy

Bryan Gilvesy.

Dans un premier temps, Grazing Forward permettra d’améliorer près de 2500 hectares et de séquestrer jusqu’à 12 578 Mt d’émissions de gaz à effet de serre par an. Ensemble, nous soutiendrons les actions communautaires, en donnant aux grands éleveurs les moyens d’utiliser leurs connaissances, leur énergie et leurs compétences pour renforcer les pratiques de gestion des terres pâturées qui améliorent la qualité de l’eau, l’habitat des espèces sauvages et la résilience climatique.

Les éleveurs de bovins et de bétail participants développeront leur utilisation de pratiques régénératrices qui capturent le carbone, notamment le pâturage régénératif, la restauration de prairies et de zones humides indigènes et la plantation d’arbres et d’arbustes.

Le partenariat s’appuiera également sur les connaissances d’éleveurs tels que Sean McGrath, qui dirige le domaine Round Rock Ranching dans le comté de Vermilion, à la frontière de la Saskatchewan et de l’Alberta. Sean participe au programme ALUS depuis 2010 et c’est l’un des éleveurs les plus innovants que je connaisse. Il a joué un rôle de premier plan dans le programme ALUS depuis son lancement en Alberta, grâce à sa motivation et sa générosité à fournir des conseils à d’autres éleveurs qui explorent des options d’intendance pour leurs terres.

En tant qu’agriculteur participant au programme ALUS depuis 16 ans, je peux témoigner de la fierté que l’on ressent lorsque l’on dédie sa créativité, sa passion et ses compétences à relever les importants défis auxquels notre société est confrontée aujourd’hui, grâce à l’expérience acquise au fil de générations dévouées au travail de la terre.

Grazing Forward créera une valeur partagée pour A&W Canada, Cargill, ainsi que pour les éleveurs participants et la population en général, en créant un environnement plus sain et plus résilient, tout en relevant le défi climatique à l’échelle mondiale.

Ces avantages seront ultimement partagés avec les générations suivantes.

Bryan Gilvesy

Voir nos résultats

Gestion de l'eau

Améliore la santé des bassins versants

Biodiversité

L’indicateur de pointe d’une planète saine

Changement climatique

Séquestre le carbone dans le sol

Parlons de la manière dont vous pouvez créer une valeur partagée pour votre entreprise, vos clients et vos communautés.

Katherine Balpataky,
Directrice principale, Partenariats corporatifs

Plus de nouvelles

La TD renouvelle son soutien au projet New Acre

La TD renouvelle son soutien au projet New Acre

Projet New Acre soutient 450 acres de projets environnementaux au Canada grâce au soutien de la TD  Justin Bell, directeur de compte TD, et Kate Powell, coordonnatrice d'ALUS Peterborough, rencontrent un âne sympathique sur le site d'un projet ALUS à Indian River, en...

La TD renouvelle son soutien au projet New Acre

La TD renouvelle son soutien au projet New Acre

Projet New Acre soutient 450 acres de projets environnementaux au Canada grâce au soutien de la TD  Justin Bell, directeur de compte TD, et Kate Powell, coordonnatrice d'ALUS Peterborough, rencontrent un âne sympathique sur le site d'un projet ALUS à Indian River, en...

Partnering with Cargill and A&W on Climate Action

Cargill, A&W and New Acre Project support enhanced grazing as a nature-based solution to ecological challenges.

“As a rancher who has been a participant in the ALUS program for 16 years, I can attest to the pride one feels when they are called upon to apply creativity, passion and skills learned through generations of experience working the land to address the great societal challenges that face us today.”

Feeding the world while addressing climate change and biodiversity loss is the defining challenge of our time. Success will require the participation of farmers and ranchers everywhere with the support of forward-looking companies that are committed to climate action.

Seizing this challenge, we are pleased that A&W Canada and Cargill are demonstrating bold leadership by creating Grazing Forward, an initiative of New Acre Project that will expand regenerative practices to address climate change within the beef supply chain in 20 communities across Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba over the next three years.

 

Bryan Gilvesy

Bryan Gilvesy.

As an initial step, Grazing Forward will enhance more than 6,000 acres and will sequester up to 12,578 MT greenhouse gas emissions per year. Together, we will support community-based actions, empowering ranchers to use their knowledge, energy and skills to enhance grazed land management practices that improve water quality, wildlife habitat and climate resilience.  

Participating beef farmers and ranchers will expand their use of regenerative practices that capture carbon, including enhanced grazing, restoring native grasslands and wetlands, and establishing of trees and shrubs.

The partnership will also draw on the knowledge of ranchers like Sean McGrath, who operates Round Rock Ranching in Vermilion County, with pastures on both sides of the Saskatchewan/Alberta border. Sean has been an ALUS participant since 2010 and he’s one of the most innovative ranchers I know. He has held leadership roles in the ALUS program since it launched in Alberta, because he is motivated to provide guidance to other ranchers who are exploring stewardship for their land.

As a rancher, who has been a participant in the ALUS program for 16 years, I can attest to the pride one feels when they are called upon to apply creativity, passion and skills learned through generations of experience working the land to address the great societal challenges that face us today.  

Grazing Forward will create shared value for A&W, Cargill, for participating ranchers and for all Canadians, building healthier and more resilient landscapes while addressing the climate challenge, globally.

These benefits will ultimately be shared with the generations that follow. 

Bryan Gilvesy

See Our Results

Water Stewardship

Improves the health of watersheds

Biodiversity

Supports insects, birds, bats and other creatures

Climate Change

Sequesters carbon in the soil

Let’s talk about how you can create shared value for your business, your customers and your communities.

Katherine Balpataky,
Director of Corporate Partnerships

More Stories

TD Renews Support for New Acre Project

TD Renews Support for New Acre Project

New Acre Project supports 450 acres of environmental projects across Canada with TD supportJustin Bell, TD Account Manager, and Kate Powell, ALUS Peterborough Coordinator, meet a friendly donkey at an ALUS project site in Indian River, Ontario, while visiting...

ALUS Adds Entrepreneurial Spirit To New Acre Team

ALUS Adds Entrepreneurial Spirit To New Acre Team

The New Acre team has expanded to include a Manager of Business Development.“We are thrilled to have Jill join ALUS' development team, which strives to create shared value for our corporate sponsors and communities through New Acre Project."Jill Weaver joins the ALUS...

Silk® to Help Restore Farmland Across Canada

Silk® to Help Restore Farmland Across Canada

Silk® supports the management and restoration of 90 acres through New Acre Project“Our involvement in the New Acre™ Project advances our ongoing mission to support local communities and promote sustainable local practices, such as water conservation and helping...

TD Renews Support for New Acre Project

TD Renews Support for New Acre Project

New Acre Project supports 450 acres of environmental projects across Canada with TD supportJustin Bell, TD Account Manager, and Kate Powell, ALUS Peterborough Coordinator, meet a friendly donkey at an ALUS project site in Indian River, Ontario, while visiting...

ALUS Adds Entrepreneurial Spirit To New Acre Team

ALUS Adds Entrepreneurial Spirit To New Acre Team

The New Acre team has expanded to include a Manager of Business Development.“We are thrilled to have Jill join ALUS' development team, which strives to create shared value for our corporate sponsors and communities through New Acre Project."Jill Weaver joins the ALUS...

Silk® to Help Restore Farmland Across Canada

Silk® to Help Restore Farmland Across Canada

Silk® supports the management and restoration of 90 acres through New Acre Project“Our involvement in the New Acre™ Project advances our ongoing mission to support local communities and promote sustainable local practices, such as water conservation and helping...